AK Miller Tribute at the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum
Pomona, CA
Pictures By Roger Rohrdanz
Story & Captions By Richard Parks
3 Pages

Frank Morimoto, Leslie Long and Eric "Rick" Rickman. Rickman was one of the first photographers for Hot Rod Magazine and then went on the first Safety Safari for the new NHRA in 1954, with Bud Coons, Bud Evans and Chic Cannon. He is a member of the Dry Lakes Hall of Fame and the Boat Racers Reunion Honorary Awards program.

Richard Parks and Ron Moon.

Richard Parks, James and Earlene Smith.

Michael Rickman and Richard Parks. Michael is the son of Eric Rickman.

George Callaway and Earl Wooden. George Callaway is called the Unofficial Mayor of El Mirage Dry Lake. He lives next to the lake bed and helps to make sure that the lake bed is maintained for land speed time trials every year. He was the SCTA 2004 points champion. Wooden's Crossley is the car that Ak Miller raced at Bonneville to get into the 200 MPH Club. A prestigious honor among the land speed fraternity that bestows the famous red cap. Wooden has helped many people achieve this honor in his car.

Steve Hope, Ron Hope, George Callaway, Richard Parks and David Parks. Steve and Ron Hope are brothers, as is Richard and David Parks. Ron Hope is the driver for the fuel altered Rat Trap drag car.

Doris Pierce, Richard Parks and Pete Pierce. Pete is a car and boat racer.

Mike Jones, Ak Miller, and Jim Travis. Mike Jones was the manager of Orange County International Raceway. Jim Travis has raced everywhere, as a landspeeder and oval track racer. He also builds and restores cars, including the Mickey Thompson landspeed cars and Wally Parks' Suddenly, which was also known as the Hot Rod Special driven by Wally Parks and Ray Brock.

David Parks, Richard Parks, Barbara Parks and Wally Parks. A family portrait. WP was a co-founder of the SCTA in 1937, President of the SCTA in 1946, secretary to Ak Miller in 1947, and the founder of NHRA in 1951. Ak Miller reversed roles and became Vice President of the NHRA in the early '50's.

Joey Graham, Doris Eames and Joann Brock. Joann is Ray Brock's widow, and Don Francisco's Sister-in-Law.

Wally Parks and Dick Martin. Martin known as Turboguy, put on this wonderful day for Ak Miller.

Roger Rohrdanz, Wally Parks and Dick Martin. Rohrdanz is a photographer and the partner of Richard Parks in the by-line Gone Racin.'

Ron Benham and Stormin' Norman Benham. A father and son team. Ron Benham has build more landspeed cars than just about anyone, and dozens of people have made it into the 200 MPH Club because of him. Ron is a member of the Dry Lakes Hall of Fame. His son, Stormin' Norman is a landspeed racer in his own right.

Stormin' Norman Benham, Jim Miller, and Jon Meyer. Jim Miller, affectionately known as Ak Miller's illegitimate son is a landspeed racer and historian, who has done much to keep alive the history and heritage of the sport.

Vic Cunningham, Wally Parks. Pete and Doris Pierce in background.  Cunningham is a member of the Cal-Rods Car Club that hosts the Twi-Light Cruise Nights at the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum on the first Wednesdays of each month.

Wally Parks and Ak Miller. Two of the greatest landspeed racers and administrators of all time. Landspeed racing would not have been what it is today without these two men.

The program begins. Jim Shaw, Jim "Jake" Jacobs, Barbara and Wally Parks, Ak Miller, Jon Meyer, Bob Keller, Ron Hope, Stormin' Norman Benham, Richard Miazga, and Dick Martin in front row seats.

Richard Parks and George Barris.






Copyright 1999 - 2005 Hot Rod Hot Line All Rights Reserved
No Portion May Be Used Without Our Written Permission
Contact Us Toll Free (877) 700-2468 (US) or (208) 562-0470 (Outside US)
246 S. Cole Rd, Boise, ID 83709