VIP Sponsors


SEMA Hall of Fame to Induct Three New Members

Images and research courtesy

SEMA has chosen the next three inductees for its Hall of Fame, the industry’s highest honor: Donnie Eatherly, Ed Pink and Chris Thomson.

The new members, renowned for shaping and inspiring the auto specialty-equipment market, will be recognized as part of the festivities during the SEMA Installation & Gala, Friday, July 20, at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City in Los Angeles.


Donnie Eatherly

Donnie Eatherly has certainly had a unique career. He’s worked in all areas of the industry, from sales, inventory management and marketing to managing capital, resources and people. This diverse background has given him a wide perspective spanning every aspect involved and has helped him to effectively champion many important industry initiatives, including youth engagement, legislative involvement, data standardization and vehicle technology. With his father, he founded one of the first and longest-running speed shops in the mid-Tennessee area. He is among the industry’s more active volunteers, having served on the SEMA Board of Directors, SEMA Political Action Committee and a variety of SEMA councils and task forces.


Ed Pink

For over 60 years, Ed Pink Racing Engines has helped legendary racers set records and win championships. That alone would be enough reason to honor “The Old Master,” but he’s further set apart from all the others by his dedication, innovation and contribution to the industry. Like many auto lovers, Pink’s first job was at a gas station. From those beginnings, his career led him to work alongside industry pioneers, such as Lou Baney, Ed Iskenderian and the Edelbrocks. He opened his first shop in 1957 and built engines used in effectively every avenue of motorsports, including drag racing, midgets, stock cars, Indy cars and even IMSA, Le Mans and the Baja 1000. Though Pink sold his original business about 10 years back, he still consults and actively supports programs such as the SEMA Scholarship Foundation. He is a member of the Motorsports Hall of Fame in Detroit, Don Garlits International Drag Racing Hall of Fame and the Super Stock Hall of Fame.


Chris Thomson

Before joining TMG Group earlier this year, Chris Thomson worked at leading industry brands, including Baer Brakes Systems, Airaid/K&N Filter Co., Holley Performance Products and FlowTech Exhaust Co. He held instrumental executive positions in those organizations for over 40 years, playing a key role in the companies’ successes. However, it’s his selfless dedication to the industry as a whole that truly makes him stand out. Having served numerous times on the SEMA Board of Directors, as well as on several councils, committees and task forces, Thomson is often described as a “mentor” and “advocate.” He is at the forefront of every key industry initiative, and he helps others to get involved. Thomson was honored in 2006 as the PWA Person of the Year - the same year the company he worked for, Airaid Filter Co., received the PWA Manufacturer of the Year award. Look to any industry event, whether the SEMA Show, Installation & Gala or a Town Hall meeting, and Thomson will be there at the front of the crowd, pushing for greater industry involvement and supporting key causes.

For additional details about the SEMA Hall of Fame and the inductees over the years, visit For more information about the SEMA Installation & Gala, visit